Sitting Pretty

I don’t know about you, but I struggle with posture, not just when I’m standing, but when I’m sitting Imagebefore a computer. The consequence, I’ve discovered, for poor posture is shoulder and back pain. But those aren’t the only body parts our posture affects. According to an article from a chiropractic journal, “the effects of posture on health are becoming more and more evident. Spinal pain, headache, mood, blood pressure, pulse, and lung capacity are among the functions most easily influenced by posture.” Interesting, huh?

http://www.naturalposturesolutions.com/ suggests that all bodily functions are helped or hindered by how we sit or stand. “In order to provide the proper support for efficient functioning of all the organs, blood vessels, nerves, tubes and valves that make up the body’s systems, the skeleton must align along the vertical axis of gravity.”

When I was young, my mother told me to pretend I had a string attached to the center of my skull that pulled me upward. Years later, I can’t say I’ve made that exercise a lifelong habit. But Natural Posture Solutions gives me hope. ” It turns out that all healthy toddlers and people who age with elongated spines and flexible joints hold the secret to pain-free living. This is something that can be learned and put into practice by almost anyone. You can now forget the current obsession with muscle strength and constant stretching! Instead, learn to align your bones the same way you did as a toddler and find your way “home” to a body that moves easily, is authentically strong and free from tension and pain.

From Natural Posture’s “Toddlers as Teachers” article, here are 5 Things You Can Do to Align Like a Toddler: 1. locate your sit bones; 2. park your pelvis in neutral; 3. relax your belly; 4. let your breastbone settle in; 5. let your neck be soft and free. Now that you’re wondering what all that means, please read the entire article (it’s short!) at http://www.naturalposturesolutions.com/about/articles/344-2/. Other articles and videos on the site offer simple, clear explanations on how to improve our health through better posture. Learn from the little ones! Becky

Leave a Reply

